Fruity Millet Parfait

ahm-20160911-2677-edit

You all know how much I love parfaits! I made an Oatmeal, Sweet Potato , Rice Cake, Brownie and Quinoa parfait in the past. So discovering a new grain means creating a new parfait!

When I went to Germany to get some inexpensive vegan beauty products, I saw a package of ‘Hirse’ in the food section. No idea what it was, but it looked like a tasty grain, that I had never tried before.  When I later translated it, I realised it was millet! At home I cooked some of it and I got addicted to it! I have been eating it for the last few days, because it is so good.

What I love about millet is that it has a very soft and creamy texture. It cooks very quickly, so it is perfect for those days that you don’t feel like standing minutes in the kitchen and you just want to eat!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2-2/3 cup cooked millet
  • cinnamon
  • 1 kiwi
  • 1/2 apple
  • 1 flat peach 
  • a few grapes
  • a few raspberries

ahm-20160911-2667

Make sure that you use a long glass so all the layers fit in. If you can’t find any in your house, I recommend going to a secondhand shop to get some cheap and beautiful glasses.

Before creating the parfait add some cinnamon into the cooled down millet and mix it together.

Start by cutting your kiwi half (side-wise) and cut it in slices. Place the slice in the glass, this way that the kiwi sticks to the glass. Keep adding slices until the entire bottom is filled. Now add about 1 tablespoon cooked millet on top of the kiwi as the second layer. Make sure that the millet is cooled down before adding it in the parfait, because the steam from the hot millet can cause the glass to become misty. Cut the flat peach into cubes and add it on top of the millet. Add a layer of millet on top and on top of that place some cut up grapes (in half) to the side of the glass. Add another layer of millet, then a layer of cut up apple. Add the last layer of millet, make this layer a little thicker so it is higher than the edge of the glass. And finally add some raspberries for a cute and delicious finish!

ahm-20160911-2684-edit

I hope that you all had a beautiful weekend and I wish you a very good start of the new week!

keep dreaming2

 

Leave a Reply

