A Sweet And A Savoury Recipe For Baked Cabbage

 

IMG_0540 smaller edit

I have been wanting to bake cabbage in the oven for a long time now. However, I couldn’t chose between making a sweet or a savoury meal! So I created both and they turned out great!

As always I have so much trouble chosing what to make. Do I go for sweet or savoury, raw or cooked? I can never make a decision, which is probably why I most often go for a filled salad with sweet, savoury, raw and cooked ingredients combined. However, I don’t feel like eating the same all the time, so sometimes I have to make that difficult decision. 

As always I put the measurements with the ingredients in a list below, but the amount you use really depends on your tastebuds. I used the measurements below, but I think that next time I would at a lot more of the spices, because to me it was a little too flavourless.

Ingredients:

Sweet Baked Cabbage:

  • 1/2 of a thick cabbage slice
  • 1 cup unsweetened apple juice or 1/4- 1/2 a cup of unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/2 small apple
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • (optional) liquid sweetener

Savoury Baked Cabbage:

  • 1/2 of a thick cabbage slice
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • pinch ground pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • pinch garlic powder

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 200 °C

For the sweet baked cabbage, let the slice of cabbage soak in the apple juice (soak for about 15-30 minutes before moving on to the next step) or spread over some apple sauce if you prefer that. Now put some cinnamon and if you desire a little bit of extra sweetener on top of the cabbage. Cut up the apple into very small pieces and sprinkle them on top too.

For the savoury one put the lemon juice on top of the cabbage, make sure that it is spread on all over the cabbage slice. Let it soak in for a minute and sprinkle on the pepper, thyme and garlic powder.

Put the slices on a baking tray with parchment paper and bake in the oven for about 25-30 minutes or until soft.

IMG_0529 edit small file

Which one would you prefer the sweet or savoury one? I couldn’t really make a choice which one I liked better(as always), but if I had to chose I would probably go for… no, I really can’t chose, haha:)

 

So today is the day that my media file on WordPress decided to be full. I have no idea what to do right know. The only option seems to buy more space, get a self-hosted site (which both are expensive) or delete older posts to get a little bit more space. I am so desperate, because I am so excited about writing more post for you, guys! If you know any other solutions please let me know. Because of this I have know idea when I will be able to be back with another post.

I hope to be able to talk to you very soon!

keep dreaming2

4 thoughts on “A Sweet And A Savoury Recipe For Baked Cabbage

Leave a Reply

