Vegan Vegetable Curry

IMG_0266

I had never had a curry dish before this one, but I will never make that mistake ever again! I have seen curry dishes a lot on the Internet, but I finally had time to create one myself with some of the ingredients that I had still laying in the fridge. Those recipe where I just throw some ingredients together, most of the time turn out the best.

The thing that I love most about this recipe is that this curry will taste great with whatever vegetables you have laying around in your kitchen. Personally I don’t like sauces which have a flavor which is so strong that you can’t really taste the real flavor of the vegetables anymore. This curry sauce is just perfect, spicy enough, but not too much to take away the flavor of the vegetables. Lets just take our ingredients and lets get started, so you can taste it yourself!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup cauliflower
  • 1/2 cup broccoli
  • 1 carrot
  • 1/2 cup kidney beans( already cooked)
  • 7 medium mushrooms
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 stalk celery
  • 1/3 yellow bell pepper
  • 1/3 red bell pepper
  • 1-3 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1-1 1/2 teaspoon ginger powder
  • 2-4 cups plant-based milk (I used almond milk instead of coconut milk to keep it a little lower in fat, but all plant-based milks will work.)
  • 1 cup of cooked rice

Directions:

Start by cutting up the onion and garlic into small pieces. Saute those in a large pan with some water, so they don’t stick to the pan. Cut up all the other vegetables, it’s up to you if you want big or small pieces. Personally I like my pieces when they are cut up into big pieces, because they get a lot more crunchy when cooking.

Put the vegetables into the pan and cook until they have soften as much as you like. Now add in the plant-based milk, curry powder and ginger powder and mix well. You can always add in more or less of the spices, according to your preference. Cook until everything is hot, or cook a little longer to make the vegetables really soak in the flavor of the spices.

Put the cooked rice on a plate and add the hot curry.

IMG_0253

After a long day traveling to Amsterdam and back home, I loved having this beautiful warm and satisfying curry. It was a windy and pretty cold day in Amsterdam, so this spicy curry was great to heat my body up. This is definitely a recipe that I will make a lot more. I loved adding these vegetables into the curry, but I can’t wait to make a totally new composition next time.

Have a beautiful weekend!

keep dreaming2

 

One thought on “Vegan Vegetable Curry

Leave a Reply

