Vegan Aubergine and Tomato Lasagna

IMG_0112edit

I never really cook with aubergine. Why not you ask, very good question, I have no idea. After making this recipe I realized that the texture of aubergine is actually very interesting and fun to cook with. It is soft and creamy and I can’t wait to use it in a lot more savory meals (it might even be good in some sweet meals too :). Anyway, the flavors and textures just turned out amazing. I had not expected the aubergine to have such an awesome ‘lasagna sheet’ texture. This is definitely a recipe that I will make much more often in the future. 

After a long and boring week full of tests, I am back in the kitchen. All week I have been waiting for a weekend without studying, homework and worries about school. I have been planning to make this lasagna for weeks and I finally had some time to create some.

IMG_0122 edit

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups 100% tomato sauce
  • 1-2 tablespoons Italian herbs or Herbs de Provence
  • 3/4 – 1 aubergine
  • 3-4 tomatoes
  • (optional) nutritional yeast
  • (optional) Basil leaves

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 180°C.

Start by pouring the tomato sauce in a saucepan and mix in the herbs. Put on the fire and cook until it boils.

In the mean time, cut up your tomatoes and aubergine in slices. In a non-stick pan heat up the aubergine on both sides until the sides start to get golden brown.

Now take a baking dish and start layering. Start with a layers of the sauce then a layer aubergine and finally the tomato slices. Keep repeating the process until you used up all the ingredients. If you have some nutritional yeast or fresh basil leaves and you like to use it, you could sprinkle some on top or in between layers.

Put the baking dish in the oven for about 45 minutes. Take it out, serve on a nice plate and enjoy!

IMG_0127 edit

I hope that you all have a beautiful weekend.

keep dreaming2

6 thoughts on “Vegan Aubergine and Tomato Lasagna

    1. Thank you so much, I am so happy to hear that. I hope that your stepdaughter is loving the lifestyle just as much as I am doing. If there is anything in particular you would like to know or like to see on my blog, let me know. I would love to help.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

