DIY New Year Walnut Fortune Gift

 

IMG_0021 smaller edit

I believe that everything happens for a reason. So yes, I also believe that the fortune cookie you pick has a quote that wants to tell you something. However I do find it a little weird that a cookie is a symbol for the new year. I mean everyone is making goals and a lot of people want to become healthier, so why start the year with a cookie? I think that having something that you can keep instead of eating is a lot more fun, because it is motivating and you can keep looking at it all year. So I decided to make a festive fortune walnut, that you can keep and can motivate you throughout 2016!

Things Needed:

  • Walnut
  • White or gold paint
  • Glue
  • Brush
  • Gold glitters
  • White paper
  • Pen
  • String

Directions:

Start by breaking the walnut with a nutcracker. This is the most difficult step of all, because it is very hard to crack the walnut where it breaks the walnut exactly in half. When the walnut is in half, take out the nut and clean out the nut.

Now take a brush and white or gold paint and paint the inside of the nuts. When the paint is dry add a layer of glue on the inside and pour in some of the glitters. Cover the entire inside of the nut by moving the nut so all the glitters cover the glue.

While the glue is drying, make your small strips with quotes on white paper. Fold the quotes and put them in the nut and close it. Take the string and tie it around the nut.

 

IMG_0024 smaller edit

I think that this is such a fun and unique gift to give your friends and family members to wish them a happy new year. It’s a way to tell them that you hope that the new year is going to be awesome and it is a way to motivate them to work hard this year.

I can’t believe that there is only one day left until it’s 2016! That also means that this will be my last post in 2015, isn’t that crazy! 2015 was an awesome year of writing on here and I am so grateful for all of you reading, liking and commenting on my posts. I love looking back at my old posts and see how much things have improved this year. I can’t wait to see where I will be in one year, what I have written, photographed and changed.

Hopefully you have a beautiful New Years Eve and I can’t wait to talk to you in 2016!

keep dreaming2

5 thoughts on “DIY New Year Walnut Fortune Gift

Leave a Reply

