Christmas Heart Shaped Falafel

 

 

-Falafel 1 smallerEvery year at Christmas my grandmother would make meatballs but than heart shaped, the favourite thing on the table if you asked my nephew, niece, sister and me. Our parents would place different dishes on the table one after the other and when the meat hearts arrived, we jumped through the room. These things were a tradition of our family, so now I don’t eat these anymore I thought it would be fun to recreate these but than made out of falafels.

These falafels are delicious and full of flavour. Especially in winter I like to eat a lot more food that have more spice. I just had my first falafels a few months ago and I love them, I think that cumin is such a delicious and powerful spice.

I made this recipe without tahini and added oils, so it is a lot lower in fat than most falafel recipes, but just as delicious if you ask me.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2/3 cup fresh parsley
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 265 grams (drained) chickpeas
  • 1/2 -1 tsp baking powder

-Falafel 2 amaller

Directions:

Preheat the oven at 180 °C

In a food processor add  the onion, garlic and parsley and pulse until everything has turned into very small pieces. now add in the chickpeas, cumin and baking powder and mix again.

Now divide the mixture and create little balls, carefully press them down a bit and make heart shapes. Put them on a baking tray with parchment paper and bake for 20 minutes, turn them around and bake for another 10 minutes.

-Falafel 3 smallerThese turned out so crispy and flavourful, I honestly can not wait to make them again very soon! Next time I have to put them in a container though, because I snacked on them all day, that I couldn’t even have them for dinner anymore :(

Have a nice week guys!

keep dreaming2

Leave a Reply

