DIY Christmas Gift:Gingerbread Sugar Scrub and Body Butter

 

IMG_9782 edeit smaller

The winter months make everyones skin a lot dryer, so what better way to give a useful and delicious body care gift. This one is great for a pampering night during the Holidays. When your loved ones smell this gingerbread scrub while sitting in the bathtub,  they feel like they are relaxing in a freshly baked gingerbread bath.

When my skin is getting dryer, I like using a dry brush to get nice and smooth skin. However, when I am feeling like I want something a little more special, I love making my own scrub and body butter. Especially in winter I like pampering myself a little more, to feel special and pretty for the Holidays. Scrubing my skin and using the butter makes me feel as soft as one of Santa’s reindeers and the smell makes me feel like a little gingerbread girl, so this body product is all I need for preparing for Christmas Eve!

Ingredients:

-Gingerbread Sugar Scrub

  • 1 cup of brown sugar 
  • 1/3 cup of (solid) coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 ginger powder

-Body Butter

  • 1/2 cup of (solid) coconut oil
  • (optional) one of the spices also used in the sugar scrub

Directions:

-Gingerbread Sugar Scrub

In a mixing bowl put the coconut oil and mix it with a handmixer until it has become more of a cream, rather than hard pieces of coconut oil. Now add in the sugar and spices and mix again until everything is well combined.

-Body Butter

Put the coconut oil in a mixing bowl and mix with a handmixer until you get a creamy consistency.

Now take a jar add the sugar scrub in first. Now but the body butter into a piping bag and put a bit on top of the sugar scrub.

If you want you can add a little gingerbread man on top. I made one out of polymer clay. First mix orange and a little bit of black clay to create a gingerbread brown colour. Rol the clay out and cut out a gingerbread man.

IMG_9763 smallerWith some white clay create the eyes, buttons and some strands for on the arms and legs. Put them on top of the gingerbread man and carefully push a little bit to make it stay together.

IMG_9765 smallerNow bake in a 110 °C oven for 15-20 minutes. When they are cooled down you can press them on top of the body butter.

Finally you can add a little ribbon for decoration and keep it in place with glue or tape.

IMG_9774 edit smallerSo from the beginning of December I started a series with different recipes for the Holidays. I just loved the idea of a series, so I wanted to start another one. So until Christmas I won’t only share those recipes, but there will be weekly DIY Christmas gift ideas too! I am way too excited and I hope that you will like them too.

keep dreaming2

2 thoughts on “DIY Christmas Gift:Gingerbread Sugar Scrub and Body Butter

Leave a Reply

