Healthy Vegan Birthday Cake

 

IMG_9374 edit smalller

Today is a special day, because this is my 100th post on my blog! I thought that it would be a fun idea to celebrate this special occasion with a very healthy cake!

I can not believe how fast time has past this year. I can still remember the first time I posted something on here. I was so scared and excited at the same time. Starting a blog or Youtube channel has always been a dream, but I never started just because I didn’t know what people would think and I was scared that friends and family would find out. I always wanted to have a platform to be creative, share my thoughts and connect with like-minded people. I am so glad that I made the decision to finally start, because I have had so much fun spending time on my blog this year. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup oats
  • 2 cups water or diary-free milk
  • 2-3 cups red fruit (frozen) + some extra for decoration
  • 1 apple
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 banana (optional)

Other things needed:

  • vase (as seen in the picture below)

Directions:

Start by cooking your oatmeal with the water or dairy-free milk in a saucepan. If you want to make it really sweet like a cake you can add a mashed banana and/or another sweetener like coconut sugar or date syrup. Cook until the oatmeal is quite thick and let it cool down.

Now take your vase, use one that is circular (one with approximately 14 cm diameter, 7 cm height). Add some plastic wrap inside so you can take out the cake later.

 

IMG_9467 smallerTake your cooled down oatmeal mixture and mix it ones again. Now put 1/2 of the oatmeal mixture in the vase with plastic wrap and make it smooth with a spoon. Now add an extra layer of plastic wrap, add the leftover oatmeal mixture on top and make it smooth too. Put the vase in the fridge for about 1 hour to stiffen up.

 

Take the vase out of the fridge and let them sit on the counter at room temperature.

IMG_9334 edit smallerIn the mean time, take your frozen fruits and put them in a saucepan, with just a little bit of water so they won’t burn. Cook and mash until you have a smooth mixture. Put the mixture in a bowl let it cool down a bit, add the chia seeds and put the mixture in the fridge to stiffen up.

Now take the first layer of cake out of the vase and put it on a nice plate. Add about 1/2 the fruit mixture and spread it on top. Now take the second cake layer out of the vase and add it on the fruit mixture. Spread the leftover fruit mixture over the cake, a thin layer on the side of the cake and a thicker layer on top. Cut your apple into thin slices and place them on the side of the cake and add some red fruits in the middle.

Take some balloons and confetti, cut the cake and let the party begin!

IMG_9357 editThis cake is probably the healthiest cake I have ever made. This cake can be made for every occasion, I even had some of it for breakfast! I recommend eating this cake when it is at room temperature just like a normal cake. If you heat it up in the microwave it will lose his shape and fall apart.

Thank you so much for reading my blog posts and sending me lovely comments this year. Reading them is something I absolutely love about blogging!

keep dreaming

3 thoughts on “Healthy Vegan Birthday Cake

Leave a Reply

