Sweet Grilled Fruits and Vegetables

 

IMG_9319 smaller

I could literally have fruit with everything, they are so flavourful and sweet. I love adding in some fruit in my vegetable salads, but I have never put it in a hot vegetable meal. Which is unfortunate, because it honestly tastes so good. The sweetness of the warm apple and mandarin is perfect with the soft, yet crunchy vegetables. Which makes it the perfect winter food.

This year was the first year of having a vegetable garden in our backyard. We didn’t have a lot of things, but I loved seeing the different plants grow. I can really enjoy watching the growing process of the different plants. Especially seeing the first vegetables appear is so rewarding in a way. Yesterday I realized that my Brussels sprouts were ready to take off, so I used them right away for my delicious lunch. Unfortunately the Brussels sprouts were the last vegetable in my garden, but I can’t wait for next year when I will grow even more different plants.

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup Brussels sprouts
  • 1 medium carrot
  • 2/3 apple
  • 1 mandarin
  • nutmeg

Directions:

Start by draining the Brussels sprouts, take off the bottom and cut them in half. Peel the carrot and cut it into slices (about 1/4 cm thick).

Put the Brussels sprouts and carrot slices into a pan with just a tiny amount of water (or oil if you don’t mind). Bake and stir the vegetables until they have gotten a bit softer.

Cut the apple into 1/4 cm thick slices and the mandarin slices into half and add them to the pan. Now bake everything until the vegetables start to get a little brown and the fruits have soften.

If you want you can add a bit of nutmeg for some extra flavour.

IMG_9321 smallerI hope that all are having an exciting and fun weekend!

keep dreaming

Leave a Reply

