Black Rice Halloween Salad

IMG_9123 edit smaller

Halloween is almost here and even though we don’t really celebrate it in the Netherlands, I love creating Halloween inspired things.

The mysterious, scary and spooky atmosphere is something I love. Every day I cycle along an old, dilapidated house where the plants grow out of the roof. I don’t know why but I am so in love with it, it’s just so creepy and mysterious. Old, dilapidated houses actually are one of my favourite things in the world, when I look at them an entire fantasy world is created in my head.

When it is Halloween you can’t eat pink cupcakes, right? So I created this Black Rice Halloween Salad to get into the amazing Halloween mood!

Ingredients:

  • 100 gram uncooked black rice
  • 1/2 – 1 apple
  • 1/2 – 1 carrot
  • 8 cherry tomatoes
  • 10 Brussels sprouts
  • 6 mushrooms
  • 1/6 small pumpkin
  • 2 tbsp kidney beans
  • 1/6 red onion
  • 3-4 walnuts
  • 2 hands full of mixed greens/ red cabbage
  • 1 mandarin
  • 1/2 red bell pepper

Directions:

Start by cooking your rice in about 1 1/2 cup water.

While the rice is cooking, cut the apple, carrot, tomatoes, red union, red pepper and mandarin into pieces.

Cut the brussels sprouts in 1/2 or 1/4 and the pumpkin into pieces and steam together.

On a plate put some mixed greens and red cabbage, for the Halloween effect and on top add the cut up and steamed vegetables, black rice, kidney beans and some walnuts if you want.

Lit some candles, turn down the lights and protect your food, before the ghosts have secretly eaten your appetizing salad!

IMG_9129 edit smaller
I had never cooked a meal with black rice before, but it was so good. It had a very soft and warm flavour which I absolutely loved. Unfortunately black rice is a lot more expensive, so I only get to use it for special occasions. If you ever get the chance to eat some black rice I highly recommend it. Even though it does taste a lot like regular rice, I do think that the soft flavour makes it perfect for the winter months.

What are your plans for Halloween? I would love to know.

keep dreaming

6 thoughts on “Black Rice Halloween Salad

  1. This is so creative, I love it! I’m also a huge fan of black rice, so I know I would love it just by looking at it. I wasn’t aware that Halloween was really celebrated in the Netherlands, but at least you seem to be getting into spirit nevertheless!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awe Sophie thank you so much for checking out my blog and your cute comments. I hope that you like the salad as much as I did. I would love to see (you can tag me on instagram @anoekreintjes) or hear from you how it turned out. Hope that you are having a beautiful day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

