Hot Pear and Oatmeal Cooked in Rooibos Tea Recipe

breakfast, lunch, pear, oatmeal, rooibos, photography

On Christmas eve my grandmother would always make these delicious hot pears, that I would eat until my stomach hurt. I realised that you can cook pear in whatever liquid you want, so I couldn’t wait to grab one of my favourite tea’s ‘Rooibos’ and create a warm, flavourful breakfast, that reminded me of the good times with my family at the dinner table.

I never cooked oatmeal in anything different than water or a non-dairy milk. I truly loved adding a flavour to my oatmeal, by using tea. There are so many different tea flavours to experiment with, so I can’t wait to use more of them in the future.

breakfast, lunch, pear, oatmeal, rooibos, photography

Ingredients:

  • 1 pear
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 3 rooibos tea bags

Directions:

Cooked Pear:

Start by taking of the peal of your pear, make sure that your pear isn’t too soft or it will make the cooking process a little more difficult. Put some water in a cooking pot, enough to cover the pear later. Boil the water and hang 2 tea bags in the cooking pot. Take them out when the water is very dark and it has a strong Rooibos flavour. Now carefully place the pear in the cooking pot and cook for about 15-20 minutes. After cooking it should have a Rooibos taste and is a softer.

Oatmeal:

Cook your oatmeal on the stove or in the microwave. Mix 1/2 cup of oats with 1 cup of very strong flavoured Rooibos tea. Cook until you have a nice and thick oatmeal consistency.

Put the oatmeal on a plate, cut the pear in half and place it on top.

breakfast, lunch, pear, oatmeal, rooibos, photography

Tomorrow I am going to visit a Vegan Summer Fest in Gent together with my mom and I am so excited! I don’t know what to expect, but I hope to get to taste some amazing healthy foods and maybe even get to talk with like minded people. I will try to bring my camera and make some pictures, so I might make a post about how I experienced the festival.

keep dreaming

6 thoughts on “Hot Pear and Oatmeal Cooked in Rooibos Tea Recipe

    1. Thank you so much! I am in love with fresh summer foods, but can’t wait to make some nice hot meals in winter too. This one will definitely be made in the winter. Thank you so much for your sweet comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

