Breakfast Raspberry Oatmeal Cake Recipe

breakfast, food, recipe , oatmeal, raspberries

Having oatmeal for breakfast is great, but honestly it gets boring quite easily. This cake is pretty, delicious and a fun way to eat your oatmeal in the morning.

Most of the time I start my day with a bowl of oatmeal, because it is quick. But if you know me for a while you know that I love to be creative with food, so I would much rather be creating new and fun recipes every morning. Fortunately it I am free from school for a while, so I have all the time to do what I love the most. 

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup raspberries
  • (optional) a sweetener like a banana or date syrup

Directions:

Cook your oats in water until you get a very thick consistency. If you want to add in a sweetener, you can mix in a mashed up banana or another sweetener of your choice. To make the oats pink I mixed in 7 mashed raspberries.

breakfast, food, recipe , oatmeal, raspberries Take a bowl and spread 2/3 of the oatmeal on the sides of the bowl. You can place a plastic foil on the sides first, to make sure that the cake comes out really easily. (Personally I did not need this.) If you feel like the oats aren’t stiff enough you can cook them a little longer or put the bowl in the fridge for about 15-20 minutes. If everything stays on the sides of the bowl properly add the leftover raspberries into the bowl.

breakfast, food, recipe , oatmeal, raspberries

Add the rest off the oats on top and spread it out evenly.

breakfast, food, recipe , oatmeal, raspberries

Now place the bowl into the fridge for 1 hour or if you make it the night before, leave it there overnight.

Turn the bowl up side down on a plate and try to flip out the cake.  If the cake isn’t coming out, take a long fork to go around the edges to loosen the ‘cake’ and try it again.

Cut your raspberry oatmeal cake into pieces with a sharp knife and enjoy!

breakfast, food, recipe , oatmeal, raspberries

This cake was such a great way to eat my oatmeal differently and I can’t wait to experiment with different fruits, like blueberries and apples. What flavours would you like to try?

keep dreaming

13 thoughts on “Breakfast Raspberry Oatmeal Cake Recipe

    1. That’s awesome, I hope that you like it as much as I did. If you would like you can take a picture and tag me @anoekreintjes on Instagram, facebook or Twitter. I would love to see your creation. Thank you so much for your comment and have a beautiful day❤️

      Like

      1. I took a picture of it and mentioned your recipe on my blog :) It was great, thanks so much for this, I will be doing it again! I think adding cocoa to the oatmeal would be an interesting twist as well!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

