Vegetable Casserole with Sweet Potato Crust Recipe

Vegetable casserole with sweet potato crust

Sweet potatoes are one of my favourite health foods that I started eating since I choose to eat a healthier diet. They are super sweet and full of flavour. Because I am so obsessed with them, I try adding them into meals in different ways all the time. Today I made a crust for a casserole and it turned out way better than I thought it would be!

Lately I have been experimenting a lot with different legumes. Legumes are a great protein source, but they taste delicious too. A few weeks ago I cooked my lentils way too long and I realized that it turned into a creamy sauce consistency. Even though the meal that I made back then didn’t turn out the way I wanted, it was my inspiration to make a great meal this time that I truly enjoyed.

Ingredients:

Top:

  • 140 gram sweet potato

Filling:

  • 50 gram bell pepper
  • 20 gram leek
  • 50 gram carrot
  • 35 gram cauliflower
  • 35 gram broccoli
  • 25 gram celery
  • 1/2 cup of cooked or canned lentils
  • 1 tsp of italian spices (basil, thyme, oregano)

Other things needed:

  • small oven dish (mine had a diameter of 12 cm)

Directions:

Preheat your oven at 180ºC.

Peel your sweet potato and cut it into pieces. Put the pieces and some water into a saucepan and cook the sweet potato until it has become very soft. Put the sweet potato pieces into a bowl and start mashing them until it has become a smooth mixture.

Now cut up all your vegetables into small pieces and cook or steam them until they have become a little softer. Don’t cook or steam it too long because when they go into the oven later they will soften too.

Take your cooked or canned lentils and put them in a saucepan with just a little bit of water. Cook the lentils till they expend a little more, add the italian spices and mash them well. If the mixture is quite thick, just mix in a little water. It should get a texture of tomato sauce, not too thick and not too thin.

Now in a mixing bowl mix the lentil sauce and your vegetables together and put the mixture in your small oven dish. Take the mashed potato and spread it on top of the vegetables.

Place your oven dish into the oven and bake it for about 30 minutes.

Vegetable casserole with sweet potato crust

keep dreaming

5 thoughts on “Vegetable Casserole with Sweet Potato Crust Recipe

Leave a Reply

