My Favourite Ways To Relieve Stress

We all experience stress, some days more than other. But what if stress is influencing your behavior and life? I have had many of these moments and over the years I have found quite a lot of things that always help me to take away the stress as much as possible. Hopefully there is something in this post that can help you too!

Reflect and look at things differently: Sometimes we are stressed about something that isn’t as stressful as we think it is. I think that it is good to take a break, have a moment for yourself and reflect on what is really going on. Is it really that bad? Can you look at it in a positive way? Is it going to be a problem for a long time or is everything going to be fine by tomorrow? Ask yourself a lot of different questions and you will see that it probably isn’t so much of a problem as what you made of it. I truly believe that stress is mostly caused by what is going on inside of your head. Taking a moment to think is a great way to take away the chaos.

Zentangle ArtZentangle/ Mandala: This one is probably the one method that really helps me to increase my stress. Zentangle is a drawing style which exists of many different patterns. Personaly I like printing zentangles online or getting a coloring book and coloring them in with pencils and markers. However, I would love to start drawing my own zentangles too. Colouring in all the different patterns is really relaxing and almost therapeutic to me. Some people like to do meditation to forget about everything, but for some reason zentangle is what works best for me. I really recommend coloring in different zentangles because as well as relieving stress, you are also doing something creative and having fun!

Lavender oil: Lavender oil is great for so many different mood problems, it reduces anxiety, depression and stress. I have had some sleeping problems and I loved adding a few drops on my pillow, which helped me to fall asleep a lot faster. Another thing I love to do is to put some drops lavender oil or even dried lavender leaves into my bath. It helps to relax and fully enjoy your bath time.

Bath/ Detox NightTaking a bath/ Detox night: Speaking about baths, they are a great way to relieve stress too. I already wrote a blog post about it right here. I basically like to have a bath or detox night every so often to fully relax. Baths are warm, which helps me to rest and calm down my mind. To make it even better I like to light some candles, listen to music and drink a cup of Rooibos tea. After taking a bath I like to read a book, do some yoga or meditation to have a complete detox night.

Clean up your space: When my room or desk is a mess, I get irritated very easily. Cleaning up is such a quick and easy thing to do and it is very effective. Having a tidy room helps me to feel relieved and in some way motivated to do things.

favourite ways to relieve stress NatureSpend time in nature: If you follow me for a while, you probably know that nature is a very important thing in my life. Being in nature helps me to feel relaxed and free. There are a lot of different things that I like to do in nature, but these three are the most stress relieving to me.

Cycling/Running: What I love about cycling & running is that you see a lot of different landscapes in a short period of time if you compare it to walking. To keep me motivated for a certain activity, it is important to have some variation. I don’t think that I could do biking inside, because I am having the same, boring view all the time. Cycling is helpful when you are stressed because you can cycle very fast to get all the stress and madness out of your body & forget about everything.

Walking: Walking works actually the other way around. Because you walk slowly you have the time to think and reflect and to start looking at the situation differently. Something else I like to do is bring my camera, so I can take some pictures of all the insects and other details in nature and get happy and fascinated by how magical nature is. This helps me to forget about the negativity and relieves my stress.

Listen to music: different styles of music have different effects on our life. When stressed I like to listen to either very relaxing music to calm down (Half of my heart- John Mayer) or to very loud and happy music to forget about everything around me (Bad Blood- Taylor Swift or Lean on – Major Lazer). I think that I am not the only one who loves being home alone, putting the music on the highest volume and sing & dance like no one is watching. It is a great way to have fun and shake off all the worries.

Stress ReliefDo fun things with people you care about: Cooking, going to the city or watching a movie with my sister are all things that I love to do when there is too much on my mind. When we are together we respect eachother completely and everything is so positive. Being together with my sister is one of my favourite things, it’s like she always knows how to cheer me up.

Sleep it over: This might not work for everyone, but it helps me immensely. Especially the smaller stress moments in my life will be forgotten after a good night of sleep. Sometimes my mom asks me about a problem from a few days ago and most of the time I don’t even know what she is talking about anymore.

What are some of your favourite ways to keep away the stress?

I hope that you all have an amazing weekend, I can’t wait to draw some more zentangles. Not because I am stressed, but just because it is so much fun!

keep dreaming

6 thoughts on “My Favourite Ways To Relieve Stress

    1. Thank you so much, I have been drawing all weekend, it makes me feel so good! I have a break from school now and I miss cycling so much, I probably should do some in the vacation too, but as you said when the weather isn’t too hot. <3

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Colouring is amazing! I found the elephant one on google, I searched for ‘elephant zentangle’. If you can’t find it and you would still like to make it, let me know and I can send you the file, if you want.💕

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

