Healthy Fruit Cone Recipe

Healthy Fruit Cone Recipe

When I read that more than 2/3 of adults eat less than 2 pieces of fruit a day I was shocked. So I created a recipe that makes eating fruit a little more fun for the people who aren’t a big fan of fruit and make eating fruit even better for fruitlovers, like me!

When I was little and I stayed at home because I was sick (what almost never happend), my mom would make me homemade orange juice and a big bowl of fruit salad. It was the only thing I liked about being sick. Fruit has always been something that I loved and when I read that more than 2/3 of adults eat less than 2 pieces of fruit a day I just couldn’t understand why. Fruit is quick, sweet, healthy, fun and just delicious, what is it that makes eating fruit so hard for so many people? I created this recipe to show people that making a meal with fruit is so much fun and delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1/8 cup of flour (I used buckwheat flour)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla powder
  • fruit of your choice

Other things needed:

  • flexible cardboard
  • aluminiumfoil
  • baking tray/ plate with parchmentpaper

Directions:

Start by making the mold for shaping the cone. Print out the template here (JPG-Document) or here (Microsoft Word Document) on a flexible piece of cardboard and cut it out. Create the shape of a cone, overlap the edges and keep them together with tape. Finally cover the cone with some aluminium foil, this makes it easier to take off the baked cone later.
healthy fruit cone recipe

Mash your banana and mix in the buckwheat flour and vanilla powder. Take a baking tray and cover it with just a little bit of oil, or use a plate with parchment paper. Take the cone mixture and create a circle on the baking tray or plate. Make sure that it is not too thick or it will take very long to get dry.

Place the baking tray in your microwave and heat it up until your cone is getting golden brown or till the bottom isn’t wet anymore. This can take a while, but don’t forget to check every so often. If you want a soft cone leave it in longer, if you really want an ice cream cone than wait until it is coloured darker brown.
healthy fruit cone recipe

When your cone is golden brown and not wet anymore, take a knife and carefully take the cone of the baking tray or plate. Take the mold for the cone and roll the cone around it. Make sure that it stays in place by pushing the edges together. Keep it in place until the cone is cooled down. When the cone is ready, carefully take out the mold.healthy fruit cone recipe

healthy fruit cone recipe

Cut up your fruit and fill up your cone. I used an apple, honeydew melon, kiwi fruit, flat peach and some berries from our garden.
Healthy Fruit Cone Recipe

I like to eat fruit just on its own or used in a recipe, but I would love to know what your favourite ways to enjoy fruit are!

keep dreaming

9 thoughts on “Healthy Fruit Cone Recipe

  1. I also love that idea! And yes, it´s horrifying how little fruit the average adult consumes! I know a lot of people eating really poorly (non-healthy food) and wondering why they are catching every cold and aren´t feeling well most of the time (tired, grunchy..)! They avoid and hate anything that could be healthy. But fruit and veggies can be so fun and taste so amazing!(just like you said!)

    Other than that. I just clicked a little through your blog and am loving it! I´m following you now! Keep up the good blogging! X

    (What camera do you use? I´m buying a new one and am open for recommendations!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the lovely words, I hope that you like the upcoming blogposts. If there is anything you would like to read about, let me know. The camera that I am using is a Canon700D. First I did not know if I would use it a lot, but I have so much fun with it now! I searched on google for a few reviews and thought that this would be a great one for me, because it also has a filming option. I hope that you are able to figure out which camera is best for you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

