Fruity Breakfast Sushi Roll Recipe

Fruity Breakfast Sushi Roll 5

I always had an admiration for all different kind of artsy things like drawings and drama. But the first time I saw that you could be creative with food, must have been the Japanese sushi and bentobox art. I loved the cuteness and detailed work and couldn’t stop searching for amazing food art pictures on the Internet. I loved looking at the pictures, but realised that creating my own creative meals would be even better.

I have always wanted to make a breakfast recipe inspired by the sushi art. Most of the things I tried have failed, because the rolling process makes it very challenging. But I was so excited that something finally did work, that I wanted to share this delicious breakfast recipe with you!

Ingredients:

Pancake:

  • 1 banana
  • 1/4 cup milk of choice
  • 1/6 – 1/4 cup flour of choice
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Filling:

  • 1 – 2 frozen bananas
  • Fruit of your choice (I used an apple, peach, mango and strawberries)

Directions:

Start by mashing the banana in a bowl and add in all the other ingredients. Mix everything well until you get a nice smooth batter. Grease your pan and create a regtangular shape pancake. When both sides are golden brown and the pancake isn’t very soft on the inside anymore, place it on a cutting board and let it cool down.

Fruity Breakfast Sushi Roll 2

Now cut up all your desired fruits into long thin strips, so they stay very compact in the sushi roll.
Fruity Breakfast Sushi Roll 1

For the creamy filling inside, I made banana ice cream. Just put your frozen bananas into a food processor and blend well until you get a ice cream consistency.

Spread the banana ice cream on top of the pancake but leave quite a lot of space on one side of the pancake. I would recommend leaving a little more space than I did, I noticed that I put on too much banana ice cream which made it more difficult to roll. Add your fruit on the other side of the pancake, again I recommend that you use a little less fruit than I did.

Now carefully roll up your sushi roll, starting at the side where the fruit is placed. If you want you can use some fruit strips to put on top for decoration.

Fruity Breakfast Sushi Roll 3

Put your sushi roll on a nice plate and it is time for you to enjoy your fruity breakfast sushi roll!

When I was about to eat the sushi roll, I started thinking about how I could actually eat this thing. I think that the easiest way is to cut it up into small sushi rolls and eat it with a fork.

Fruity Breakfast Sushi Roll 4

I hope that you all get a chance to enjoy the sunshine today!

keep dreaming

 

Leave a Reply

