Healthy Nectarine Crumble

Nectarine Crumble 1Nectarines are a delicious fruit on itself, but when you heat them up they get even sweeter and juicier. Making a crumble is a fun and delicious way to create that juicy nectarine flavour and you really do not need to use a sweetener, because this baby is as sweet as candy!

Crumbles are great, you can make so many different fruit combinations, apple, pear, berry. But today I choose to use the first nectarines of the year. After not having a fruit in months, it is great to take the first bite and fully enjoy the flavour. But what I found even better is creating a recipe with those kind of foods, because it makes the meal a lot more special to me. 

Nectarine Crumble 2

Ingredients:

  • 3 small nectarines
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2 tablespoons flour of your choice
  • 2 tablespoons fruit juice (I used orange juice)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Other things needed:

  • Bowl that can go into the oven

Direction:

Preheat your oven at 175°C. Start by cutting your nectarines into small cubes and place them in your bowl. In a mixing bowl mix the oats, flour and cinnamon and mix well. Finally add the fruit juice and mix again, until you get the texture of crumbles. Place the mixture on top of the nectarines and place the crumble in the oven for about 25-30 minutes.

nectarine crumble

You can eat it right out of the bowl or you can place it on a nice plate.

I especially like having a warm crumble on colder days during spring and summer, like today. They remind me of the cozy moments from the winter time, which I sometimes miss during summer. Doing winter activities or making winter meals are a way to still get that feeling during the summer. In the winter I sometimes like to have fresh salads and do summer activities to get over my summer ‘cravings’. It’s one of my weird habits, but it works for me and it makes me very happy.

If you have any requests for a blogpost you would like to see, please tell me because I would love to hear what kind of things you are interested in.

keep dreaming

3 thoughts on “Healthy Nectarine Crumble

Leave a Reply

