Healthy Vegan Pancakes With Apple Sauce Recipe

IMG_6602

Pancakes are great, there are so many different variations you can try out. Sweet or savoury, stacked or rolled, with toppings or plain, but today I choose a healthy vegan pancake tower with an apple sauce in between.

As a child I would barely eat pancakes, eating pancakes has always been something special for me. Today I was craving some pancakes and I came up with this idea, which made me even more excited. Hopefully you like them as much as I did.

Ingredients

Pancake batter:

  • 1/6 cup flour of your choice (I used buckwheat flour but almond, oat etc. will work too)
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon vanilla powder (optional)
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/8 cup of milk of choice (I used almond milk)

Apple sauce:

  • 1- 2  apple(s)
  • Cinnamon (optional)

Topping:

  • Whatever you like!

I would start by making the apple sauce because it takes longer to make than the pancakes. Begin by chopping the apple(s) and place them in a saucepan with just a little bit of water so they don’t burn. Leave it on a low fire till you can mash the apples into a sauce and add some cinnamon if you want.

For the pancake batter begin by mashing you banana. Add you chosen milk and mix well. Now add your flour, baking powder and vanilla powder and mix again. Take a spoon to make the pancakes, so they all have the same size. I used an ice cream spoon, but a large tablespoon will create a good shape too.

Take a frying pan and grease the pan with just a little bit of oil. Use for every pancake just one spoon with the batter and create round shaped pancakes in the pan. Turn them over when they are ready on one side and take them from the fire when the other side is ready too.

Now place the first pancake on a plate, add some applesauce on top. Place another pancake on top and so on. For topping you can put on whatever you want, I used mulberries this time and a little bit of the leftover apple sauce. Some datesauce (mix dates and some water) would be delicious too.

I know I have been posting a lot of food related posts on my blog lately, but I am thinking about putting more different content on here too. I truly hope to make this place a little more interesting and hopefully I can show you some more sides of me.

keep dreaming

2 thoughts on “Healthy Vegan Pancakes With Apple Sauce Recipe

Leave a Reply

